Augusta National: No penalty in relation to Brooks Koepka, caddie on No. 15

Brooks Koepka shot his lowest round at the Masters Tournament on Thursday, but it wasn’t without a bit of controversy.

Koepka made birdie on the par-5 15th, one of eight birdies in a 7-under 65. After hitting the green in two with an iron, Koepka’s caddie, Ricky Elliott, appeared to mouth “five” twice to playing competitor Gary Woodland’s caddie, Brennan Little.

(You can view video of the incident on’s scorecard highlights by clicking here and going to Koepka’s second shot on the 15th hole.)

Koepka was asked by reporters after his round if the situation had been addressed by Augusta National officials.

“Yeah, we looked at it when we got back in,” Koepka said. “GW (Woodland) and Butchie (Little) had no idea what we were hitting; they didn’t even know because – I know that fact, because GW asked me what we hit walking off, when we were walking down. So that’s all I can give you.”

No penalty was assessed and Augusta National released an official statement, saying: “Following the completion of Brooks Koepka’s round, the Committee questioned his caddie and others in the group about a possible incident on No. 15. All involved were adamant that no advice was given or requested. Consequently, the Committee determined that there was no breach of the Rules.”

Want to get worth reading articles in your email? want to catch what's going on in the world?

We do not spam but sent you only important news stories 🙂

News Agencies

About Author

The latest news from the News Agencies

You may also like

italy wins uefa euro 2020

Italy wins on penalties UEFA EURO 2020 Final, Italy vs England highlights:

Italy wins the UEFA Euro 2020 Final: Gianluigi Donnarumma saved two penalties as the Azzurri claimed their second EURO title
raybak abdesselem
Editor Picks Sports

Raybak Abdesselem is excited to be a part of Olympics 2024

If ever you are looking for a story to be inspired by, then there are few better people to turn