344 views 3 mins 0 comments

Lahore Qalandars became the champions of PSL 7 beats Multan Sultans

In Sports
February 28, 2022
Lahore Qalandars became the champions of PSL 7 beats Multan Sultans

Lahore: In the final match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 7, Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultans by 42 runs and won the PSL title for the first time. In the final of HBL PSL 7, Lahore Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi won the toss and elected to bat first. Lahore’s start was not so good, 3 players were back to the pavilion in just 25 runs. In the last five overs of the innings of Qalandars, Harry Brook and David Weise batted hard and put up a big collection on the scoreboard.

Lahore Qalandars became the champions of PSL 7 beats Multan Sultans

Lahore Qalandars PSL 7 Winner:


Rizwan XI, who won a record 10 matches in the event, failed to defend his title against the home team. A powerful bowling attack destroyed the batting line of Multan Sultans and in reply to 181 runs the entire team could only make 138 runs. For Multan, Asif Afridi bowled brilliantly and took 3 wickets for 19 runs while David Willey and Shahnawaz Dhani took one wicket each. The two teams are facing each other for the fourth time in the event while Lahore is the only team to have beaten Multan. On the occasion of the toss, Multan captain Mohammad Rizwan said that it is a pressure game to forget the past and move forward. He who handles the pressure well will be close to victory.

In pursuit of the desired target, none of the Multan Sultans’ batsmen failed to resist the excellent bowling attack of Lahore Qalandars. The in-form opening duo of captain Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood also returned to the pavilion with a total score of 41. Riley Russo and Asif Afridi fell victim to Zaman Khan by scoring 15 and one respectively. Amir Azmat scored six runs.

On this occasion, half of the team of Multan Sultans had returned to the pavilion with a total score of only 63. In such a situation, Tim David tried to resist by forming a partnership of 50 runs with Khushdil Shah, but he was also caught by Fakhar Zaman on the ball of Shaheen Shah Afridi with an individual score of 27. Shaheen Shah Afridi bowled David Willey in the same over. By getting out, Lahore Qalandars got stronger in the match. Haris Rauf also bowled Khushdil Shah in the next over. Shah 32 and David Willey were out for zero.


Muhammad Hafeez becomes the player of the match scoring 69 runs and taking 2 wickets. Shadab Khan was declared as the best bowler of the PSL 7 tournament with 19 wickets in nine matches at an economy rate of 6.47. Zaman Khan was declared the best emerging player of the tournament. Khushdil Shah was declared one of the best all-rounders of the tournament.

Support Independent Journalism with a donation (Paypal, BTC, USDT, ETH)
whatsapp channel
DJ Kamal Mustafa
/ Published posts: 1066

DJ Kamal Mustafa is a Music Producer, DJ, Pakistani Filmmaker, News Editor of EMEA Trribune and Journalist.