174 views 3 mins 0 comments

Lahore Qalandars defeated Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 7 by 29 runs

In Sports
February 02, 2022
Lahore Qalandars defeated Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 7 by 29 runs

Karachi: In the ninth match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 7), Lahore Qalandars defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 29 runs. the match was played between Peshawar Zalmi and Lahore Qalandars at the National Stadium in Karachi, Peshawar Zalmi had won the toss and did the bat first.


PSL 7 Match Summary:


For Lahore Qalandars, Abdullah Shafique and Fakhar Zaman started the innings and put a solid 94-runs partnership, while Abdullah Shafiq returned to the pavilion with an individual score of 41. Zaman returned to the pavilion when Zalmi’s score was reached at 114 runs. He hit 66 off 38 balls with three sixes and six fours.

Later, Kamran Ghulam and Mohammad Hafeez batted responsibly and increased the score to 159 runs. Kamran Ghulam was dismissed for 30 runs and then David Wiese was dismissed without scoring a run. Meanwhile, Mohammad Hafeez and Rashid Khan batted responsibly to take the score to 199. Lahore Qalandars scored 199 for 4 wickets in 20 overs. Peshawar Zalmi’s young bowler Irshad took two wickets while Usman Qadir and Hussain Talat took one wicket each.


The start of Zalmi’s batting was not good as Shaheen took the wicket in the first over of Zazai in the second ball of the inning. Later Hussain Talat was dismissed for a total score of 62 and Kamran Akmal was also dismissed for 41 on the next ball. Thus, 3 players were out for 62 runs of Zalmi. Then when Shoaib Malik came, he also failed and got out on the ball of Rashid Khan with an individual score of 7 while the total score of Zalmi was 89. Zalmi’s fifth wicket fell to 125 when Rutherford returned to the pavilion with 21 runs.

The next player to be dismissed was Haider Ali who was run out for 49 and returned to the pavilion. Zalmi needed 38 runs in the last over to win. Zalmi’s captain Wahab Riaz left the pavilion without scoring a run. On the very next ball, David also dismissed Arish Ali Khan.

Haider Ali (49) and Kamran Akmal (41) of Peshawar Zalmi were the top batsmen while Zaman Khan of Lahore Qalandars took three wickets, Shaheen Afridi and David took 2, 2, and one wicket was taken by Rashid Khan respectively. Peshawar Zalmi today changed the squad and gave two new players Arish Ali and Salman Irshad a chance to make their debut.


Zaman Khan of Lahore Qalandars becomes the player of the match.



Support Independent Journalism with a donation (Paypal, BTC, USDT, ETH)
whatsapp channel
DJ Kamal Mustafa
/ Published posts: 1052

DJ Kamal Mustafa is a Music Producer, DJ, Pakistani Filmmaker, News Editor of EMEA Trribune and Journalist.