291 views 4 mins 0 comments

Grand National: From Consecutive Champions to Non-Consecutive Marvels

In Editor Picks, Sports
April 09, 2024
Grand National: From Consecutive Champions to Non-Consecutive Marvels

1. Youngest Winners

In the early years of the race a number of 5-year-old horses won the Grand National, but in modern times the horses competing tend to be considerably older. Noble Yeats in 2022 was the first 7-year-old winner of the race in over 80 years. Limerick Lace and Meetingofthewaters are two 7-year-olds among the contenders for the 2024 race.

2. Grey Winners

Neptune Collonges in 2012 was the last grey horse to win the Grand National and only four grey horses have won the race in its entire 185 year history. There are four grey horses among the entries this year, including last year’s runner-up Vanillier.

3. Winning Jockeys

George Stevens holds the record for the most winners ridden in the race with five victories between 1856 and 1870. Only four jockeys currently riding have won the race before, Rachael Blackmore (Minella Times 2021), Derek Fox (One For Arthur 2017 and Corach Rambler 2023), Daryl Jacob (Neptune Collonges 2012) and Ryan Mania (Auroras Encore 2013).

4. Consecutive Winners

Only 5 horses have ever won the Grand National in consecutive years, ABD-El_Kader (1850/51), The Colonel (1869/70), Reynoldstown (1935/36), Red Rum (1973/74) and Tiger Roll (2018/19). This year’s favourite, Corach Rambler, is attempting to become the sixth horse to complete the feat.

5. Non-consecutive Winners

Only three horses have ever managed to win the race in non-consecutive years, The Lamb (1868 and 1871), Manifesto (1897 and 1899) and Red Rum (1973/74 and 1977). Noble Yeats is bidding to become the fourth horse having won the race in 2022 and finished fourth in last year’s renewal.

6. Richest Jumps Race

The 2024 Aintree Grand National is the richest race in the jumping calendar in Britain and Ireland with total prize money of £1 million. This year’s winner will receive a cheque for £500,000 compared to £352,000 won by Galopin Des Champs when he won last month’s Cheltenham Gold Cup.

There are numerous Flat races run during the year with bigger prize pools including the Saudi Cup in January which is worth a whopping $20 million.

7. Fastest Grand National

It normally takes the winner over 9 minutes to complete the course of 4 miles, 2 furlongs and 74 yards. The 1990 winner, Mr Frisk, posted the quickest time in the history of the race, winning in 8m 47.8s. Corach Rambler’s winning time in 2023 was 9m 12.06s.

8. Biggest Priced Winners

100/1 is the biggest odds of any winner of the race. 5 horses have managed to win at those odds, Tipperary Tim (1928), Gregalach (1929), Caughoo (1947), Foinavon (1967) and most recently Mon Mome (2009).

9. Leading Trainers

Three trainers, Fred Rimell, Ginger McCain and George Dockery hold the record for most wins in the race with 4 each. Of the current trainers Gordon Elliott has already won the race three times with Silver Birch (2007) and Tiger Roll (2018 and 2019) and he will have multiple chances to equal the record this year with the likes of Coko Beach, Delta Work, Galvin and Chemical Energy in the line up.

10. Leading Owners

Five different owners have won the race three times including Michael O’Leary’s Gigginstown House Stud with Rule The World (2016) and Tiger Roll (2018 and 2019). Gigginstown have a number of chances to break the record this year with Conflated, Coko Beach, Delta Work, Farouk D’Alene and Run Wild Fred.

News given to EMEA Tribune by IrishRacing.com 

Support Independent Journalism with a donation (Paypal, BTC, USDT, ETH)
whatsapp channel
DJ Kamal Mustafa
/ Published posts: 1061

DJ Kamal Mustafa is a Music Producer, DJ, Pakistani Filmmaker, News Editor of EMEA Trribune and Journalist.